Traveling Times Again

My trip to Peru was a visit of a life time and in spite of some issues it was a fantastic one. I have had a bucket list of places that I have wanted to see since the longest time and Machu Picchu has been on that list for the past 8 years. The pyramids of Egypt were added to my bucket list even before I knew what a travel bucket list means! Hopefully I can check off Egypt soon too, but in the mean time I am savouring Machu Picchu through my pictures and my mental images.

I first saw the images of Machu Picchu some 7 years ago and that place had fascinated me from ever since. I am so delighted that seeing the actual complex did not dim my fascination one bit. Not just Machu Picchu, the places that I saw in Peru, from small villages and towns to the highly touristy MP, they were all fantastic. The people, the places, the vegetarian food….all superior, I just wish I could have seen everything…but since that is not possible, I am going to be satisfied with whatever I could see and tour.

I am not the kind of person who can do extended travel for months and spend weeks on road. For me seeing a new place and spending time out of my familiar place for 10-15 days is enough for a vacation. In spite of my love to see new places, I am a homebody and would always want a home base to come back to, which is why it is perfect to spend 10-11 days in a new country, seeing as much as I can is a perfect vacation for me. I also don’t believe in cramming every second of a trip with sightseeing and being all touristy…there has to be some downtime to appreciate and enjoy your surroundings. Though this trip was all go, go, go…I think I will try and schedule some downtime in my next trip.

The first tip I would give anyone who is looking to go anywhere, is to leave your assumptions at home on your way out. When I first decided to go to Peru, most people asked me, if there was anything else to see in Peru besides Machu Picchu and they assumed there wasn’t anything else so why was I going so far just to see that one spot! My reply to everyone was, of course there are other places to see and that I would know more once I do more research. Quite frankly, even in MP was the only spot to see in Peru, I would have still gone that far to see it. Any new place, new country or new state, is different…you are never going to enjoy it if you go there with pre-conceived notions. The idea is to go with an open mind and just take it all in, the good and the bad. Afterall, I can’t think of any place which doesn’t have bit of both, you just have to learn to accept it all.

I will be writing a more detailed post with my co-travelled on our itinerary through Peru soon. But until then this post will have to do!

Leave a Reply

