Hammered-Kevin Hearne

Hammered by Kevin Hearne is the third book in The Iron Druid Chronicles. The concept of an Irish Druid and all the related mythologies fascinated me when I started the first book Hounded. It was interesting enough that I immediately went ahead and read the second one Hexed. But somewhere by the time the second book ended, I lost my interest in the series. I picked up this third book Hammered just because I saw it in my Goodreads feed and wanted to give the series another shot.

Hammered starts right off the bat with Atticus’s crazy trip to Asgard. He somehow makes it back to Tempe but not before causing some serious damage. It seems like his thousands of years of quiet existence is about to end and nothing will be the same from here on. He has agreed to take Leif Helgarson to Asgard to get his revenge on Thor-thunder god. They meet up with additional powerful beings on the way, each one of whom has their own reasons for being on this crazy trip to kill the thunder god.

The story flows well enough and is very readable if you ignore the little incongruent details. I think there was no reason to include that scene with Jesus and the Hammer of God. Yes it was important to include that warning, but I am sure the author could have delivered it in a different way. I think that’s when it started to get a little too far fetched for me. It was pretty naïve for Atticus to think that all he was doing was helping Leif get to Asgard and that he wouldn’t be required to fight! I agree that he was doing was keeping his word to his friend, but his reactons seemed very naïve in most situations.

My favorite bits have always been Atticus’s conversations with Oberon and his interactions with Granuaile. It makes me wish I had a pet with whom I could communicate in private, how much fun would that be! I felt the action scenes were written well and the picture in my mind of Atticus wielding his sword makes me sigh happily! Overall the story flowed well enough to keep me entertained. The end of this book intrigued me enough to keep going with the series for now.

Leave a Reply

