Partners for life

friends-for-blog

My Dear Watson

Everyone needs that special someone who is their partner in crime, someone who is yin to your yang. I call that person my partner and we are each other’s sidekicks. I am very lucky to have not just one, but two such partners in my life! One is my older sister and the other is my friend. My sister has been my older sibling, my idol, my mother and my best friend at various stages in my life. Growing up my mother always told me, “Why can’t you be more like your sister!” instead of making me jealous that statement just made me love her more! She is the goody two-shoes to my rebelliousness, my rock when the world is going nuts around me, my shrink, sister and family gossip partner all rolled in one!

My other partner in crime is my friend whom I found at a stage in life when I had given up trying to make new friends or meeting new people. She has all the characteristics a sidekick and a partner should have, she’s funny when I am serious, she makes me laugh when I want to cry, she gives me a boost when I want to give up and makes me want to hit her when she doesn’t stop laughing! To a third person our random conversations make no sense, but we know what we are talking about. From our discussions about the state of the world, to the 1:30 am debates on high-throughput screening, to the endless lab talks, there is never a dull moment in our crazy talks! Her never give up attitude has made me want to want things from life which I had never thought possible. Like she would say she has taught me, ‘the finer things in life!’

The best part, they are so similar to each other in mannerism and characteristics that each of them reminds me of other. My two partners make me want to be a better person and they complete me in every possible way!

Leave a Reply

